Parenting & Education in Ireland

Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

bullying by teachers

re : bullying by teachers           reply
01/04/2007 15:10 - Bullying
-----------------------------------
My son is only 8 and i have had similar problems with schools in ireland. being a teacher myself i found this extremely distressing . Eventually i changed school after 2 years of constant problems. Since september he has been getting on much better as he is now in an ´educate together´ school and i have been working closely with his teacher to help solve his difficulties. recently he was diagnosed with adhd something which teachers and principal in his old school would not consider because he wasnt overly HYPER but they obviously didnt know of the other syptoms of this disorder of which there are many! Whle my reaction of taking him from the school didnt solve the overlying bullying problem with those teachers it did help my son and i . at the end of the day to sacrifice my sons happiness and education while waiting to change a very corrupt and wrong system just wasn´t worth it. we moved he´s happier and is now getting thehelp he so rightly needs and deserves.

15/05/2007 18:35 - Bullying
A. Schools cannot expel a student for such menial offences, in fact schools cannot legally expel any child unless they are overtly violent or a threat to themselves and others.
B. They cannot deny a child a lunch break.
C. The child should be referred for an assessment.
D. See the schools policy on discipline and it´s policy on bullying.
E. Do not accept that the school is an authority on everything, it´s not.
F. Do not take any crap...schools get away with too much and have less power than they think

bullying by teachers           reply
21/03/2007 14:33 - Bullying
Hi i need advice my grandson started secondary school last september he as been surspended 3 times in that space of time