Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education in Ireland

School Year Calendar Arrangements 2019/2020



Check out the school year calendar arrangements below along with links to some of the most popular sections on the site throughout each month of the school year on the right.


- December 2019 -


Key Dates for December

nal day of Christmas Term = 22nd Dec
Final Day of Christmas Term = Friday 20th December 2019
Christmas Holidays - Mon 23rd Dec 2019 to Fri 3rd Jan 2020

Schools Reopen - Monday 6th January 2020





- January 2020 -


Key Dates for January


Monday 6th January - Schools re-open

8th - 11th January = BT Young Scientist & Technology Exhibition, RDS





- February 2020 -


Key Dates for February

February Mid-Term Break*
Secondary closed 17th–21st Feb incl.
Primary closed 20th–21st Feb with option to extend to 5 day break (17th-21st) . *NB changes to these dates may occur as part of contingency arrangements to make up for lost school time

1st February - CAO Closing Date





- March 2020 -


Key Dates for March


Tuesday 17th March - Saint Patricks's Day

Engineers Week - 29th Feb 2020, find out more here





- April 2020 -


Key Dates for April


Final Day of Term Fri 3rd April
School Closed Mon 6th April to Fri 17th April inclusive, re-opening Mon 20th April
*NB changes to these dates may occur as part of contingency arrangements to make up lost school time, i.e. schools may stay open until Wed 8th April





- May 2020 -


Key Dates for May


Monday 4th May = May Bank Holiday

End of May/beginning June - Secondary schools finish





- June 2020 -


Key Dates for June


1st June = Bank Holiday
3rd June - Junior Cert & Leaving Cert exams start
View Junior Cert Timetable
View Leaving Cert Timetable
Visit our Summer Fun Section
Note about School Summer Holiday Dates







Dates for School Year Calendar 2020/20 available here

;