Parenting & Education in Ireland

Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

recommend a school

re... : recommend a school           reply
16/06/2008 20:00 - Choosing a School / Application Procedures
-----------------------------------
Hi. Just reading ur question. Carlow has a lot of great schools- Im a teacher!!
Mixed schools include Killeshin N.S.- small enough in the country side, good school, Graiguecullen school- v.good school, on the suburbs, Tinryland-good school, countryside, Benekerry- good also, countryside. Bishop Foley is in the town-v.good school-boys only, Askea boys school in the town-mixed reviews.
But in my opinion all of the schools are very good- it just depends on how well your son will adjust and adapt. It is unfair for people to say this school is better than an other cos it often is not the case- hey usually are listening to gossip from a parent with a bad experience cos they probably have a disruptive child!
Good luck with finding a school. There are plenty to choose from and so many new yong, enthusiastic teachers in Carlow at the moment

re... : recommend a school           reply
04/04/2008 15:26 - Choosing a School / Application Procedures
Hi,
I was just thinking of emailing you to say the same thing as well. WOW. I think I can help you somehow. I´ve managed to call a friend of a friend and gave her my number to call me with such information. However someone replied my message with this information.

"asked Carlow mate, her take;

St Fiaccs is mixed, in Graigcullen, technically Laois, but really in the town.

Bishop Foley goes from 2nd up, boys only.

Aska boys is in town too, girls next door.

Gaelscoil has excellent name(hers are there) but has long waiting lists and won´t take children of that age unless they come from a Gaelscoil